Got my FPS Freeks, and they really work! (Review)

fpshands1For the last year, Joy-stick extender known as the FPS Freek has made its rounds on the professional gaming circuit, with teams in Major League Gaming and various other organizations using it to gain an edge over the competition. After months of them being available to only the Pros, the Kontrol Freek company has finally released their FPS Freek sticks to the general public. Do they really help pinpoint your aim in shooting games? I can say that after a week of testing, so far, so good.

To describe the FPS Freek in most basic terms, all the piece is is an extension of the standard joystick that fits both the Microsoft Xbox 360 and the Sony Playstation 3. In technical terms, the FPS Freek goes much deeper. Officially, the the device adds an additional 40% length to the standard 360 and PS3 controller Joystick. While this may seem like just a small change, the added 40% claims to give more stability, smoothness, torque, and control when playing precision games such as First Person Shooters.

When first using the FPS Freek device, it takes around 15 minutes to get used to the added range of motion and sensitivity of the sticks, but after the adjustment period, I can say that the FPS Freek is truly a simple, yet ingenious add-on to any PS3 or Xbox 360 gamepad.

For a week I used the FPS Freek on various video games for both the Sony’s PS3 and Microsoft’s Xbox 360, including Halo 3, NHL 09, Resistance 2, and Saints Row 2. The results were fantastic. I can definitively say that the FPS Freek device gave me better aim, especially when sniping. The regular Joysticks on the PS3 and Xbox 360 gamepads offer a limited range of motion, often making aiming a herky-jerky affair, making for either huge movements in your aiming reticule, or no movement at all. The FPS Freek’s added length counteracts that, allowing for the minor adjustments critical to perfecting aim in fast paced shooting games.

In shooting games like Halo 3, I felt that the FPS Freek allowed me to make the minor changes in my aiming that I needed to pull of key Frags (kills) in both Halo and Resistance 2. Overall, I found that I averaged around 2 or 3 kills more a game, which can make for a big difference when in tight matches. Additionally, the stick controlling in EA Sports’ NHL 09 felt much smoother and intuitive thanks to the added range of motion provided by the device. Deke-ing and keeping control of the puck was much easier and definitely helped my game.

My final verdict is that the Kontrol Freek company’s FPS Freek device is a must have for both PS3 and Xbox 360 gamers as it adds better control and more precision to almost any game that requires the use of the analog sticks. At only $10 for 2 devices, it gets my highest recommendation.

You can purchase your own and find more information at http://www.kontrolfreek.com/content/.

~ by BigRedNY on February 17, 2009.

5 Responses to “Got my FPS Freeks, and they really work! (Review)”

  1. I got these in the mail just yesterday, took a total of 15 minutes to become accustomed, they really do work great, however I paid a little over $25 for them because of the steep shipping.

    If you can get these for $10 or less they’re highly recommended however for how much I paid for them they aren’t worth it. I’m still keeping them.

  2. […] to pin point how or why this device works in scientific terms, and Google’d around and found Word on Mars put it best: “Officially, the the device adds an additional 40% length to the standard 360 […]

  3. Where do u get fps freakes from?

  4. I would NOT recommend purchasing anything from Kontrol Freek. I placed an order and was sent the incorrect product. I contacted them via email (as I could not find a phone number for them anywhere), and received a reply asking me to take a photo of the incorrect product and email it to them. Did that the next day. Never heard back from them again. I sent several follow-up emails which were all ignored. Don’t take a chance on this company — they have TERRIBLE customer service.

  5. I don’t even know the way I ended up right here, however I thought this put up was great. I don’t recognize who you’re but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you aren’t already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
